Would you rather…?

Use would rather + verb to talk about preferences, or what you want to do.

For example:

A: Would you rather watch a movie or a soccer match?

B: I would rather watch a movie.

A: Would you rather stay home or go out?

B: I think they‘d rather go out.

Students in Siler City Center worked with a partner and wrote the following questions and answers to express preference:

1. A: Would you rather eat shrimp or steak?

     B: I’d rather eat shrimp.

2. A: Would you rather drive a car or a motorcycle?

      B: I’d rather drive a car.

3. A: Would you rather play soccer or baseball?

      B: I’d rather play soccer.

4. A: Would you rather read or sleep?

     B: I’d rather read.

5. A: Would you rather go dancing or shopping?

     B: I’d rather go dancing.

Special thanks to Carolyn for taking down notes of the sentences students made in class.